Single market for the aerosol industries

EU-REPORT: The single market is certainly one of the EU’s greatest achievements for the aerosol industries. – By Pierre v. Costa

It makes everyday life easier for our business.

Thanks to the single market, also called the “internal market”, aerosol businesses, can sell and move around 28 European countries almost as freely as within one single country.

Hundreds of technical, legal and bureaucratic barriers to free trade between the member states have been removed to make things flow easily within the single market presently composed of 28 European countries. As a result aerosol companies have expanded their operations and competition.

The competition has brought prices down and gave consumers more choice. The European Union works to ensure that these greater freedoms do not undermine fairness, consumer protection or environmental sustainability.

To that end, the European Commission works with national authorities and stakeholders in member states to monitor and enforce the existing rules so that businesses can benefit from the opportunities offered by the single market. However, some barriers remain to a fully functioning single market!

To that end, the European Union is in particular working to:

- address current regulatory or administrative obstacles that prevent people from easily buying or selling goods from or in another member state;

- make it easier for companies to take money through the investment plan for Europe and the capital markets union;

- encourage workers to take up jobs in other EU countries in order to fill vacancies and meet the need for special skills, including through the European Professional  and the EURES job mobility portal;

- prevent social dumping, the practice or using cheaper labour and moving production to a low wage country or area:

- boost co-operation between national tax authorities;

- establish a common consolidated corporate tax base in the EU and a financial transaction tax.

In addition to the single market rules guaranteeing free movement of people, EU citizens do not need a passport to travel within the Schengen area, which currently comprises all of the EU member states with the exception of six member states (Bulgaria, Ireland, Croatia, Cyprus, Romania and the United Kingdom, plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland). 

To ensure safety in the Schengen area, these countries have stepped up checks on the EU’s external borders and also increased police co-operation

Tags for this article